"Justice is the first virtue of social institutions, as truth is of systems of thought."  John Rawls, A Theory of Justice (revised edn, Boston MA: Harvard University Press, 1999), p. 3


Who we are

The International Society for Justice Research (ISJR) is an interdisciplinary organization dedicated to research on justice and related phenomena of morality and ethics. Justice is a concept with vast relevance to social life and can be studied at various levels of analysis, including intraindividual processes and individual decision-making, interpersonal and intergroup relations, organizations and institutions, as well as society, politics, and culture. ISJR fosters international and interdisciplinary collaboration and promotes exchange of new ideas, research, and theories relevant to justice and related phenomena. ISJR facilitates such collaboration and exchange through the conduct of biennial scientific conferences, the publication of a scientific journal (Social Justice Research), regular newsletters, and informal discussion by means of a listserv.


We invite all scholars interested in justice or related areas of research to join the International Society for Justice Research and get involved in the Society's activities.

News and Announcements

ISJR Morton Deutsch Award


The winners of the 2013 ISJR Morton Deutsch Award for best paper published in Social Justice Research in 2013 are Michael T. Parker and Ronnie Janoff-Bulman for their paper:


Parker, M., & Janoff-Bulman, R. (2013). Lessons from morality-based social identity: The power of outgroup “hate”, not just ingroup “love”. Social Justice Research, 26, 81-96.


Congratulations! The award will be officially presented at the upcoming conference of the International Society of Justice Research, 19-22 June, 2014, in New York.

ISJR Awards


Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 ISJR awards:


Riël Vermunt (University of Leiden) has been selected for the ISJR Lifetime Achievement Award, and David Mayer (University of Michigan) has been selected for the ISJR Early Career Contribution Award.

Both awards will be officially presented at the next biennial conference of the International Society of Justice Research, 19-22 June, 2014, in New York, at which both awardees will present an address. For further information about the conference, please click here.

Job Opening - NYU Department of Psychology



Psychology Department


New York University


The Department of Psychology in Arts and Science at New York University invites applications for an open-rank, tenured or tenure-track position in Social Psychology. The appointment is expected to begin September 1, 2015, pending budgetary and administrative approval.


We seek applicants with outstanding records of programmatic research in social psychology with a focus on the relationship between the individual and society. Teaching duties will include undergraduate and graduate courses as well as Ph.D. research supervision. It is required that candidates for the junior level position will have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. by the start date of the appointment.


To apply, see the “Job Openings” link on the NYU Department of Psychology web site, http://www.psych.nyu.edu/. Review of applications will begin on October 15, 2014, and continue until the position is filled. The application should include a CV, statements of research and teaching interests, representative publications, and at least three references.


New York University is an Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity Employer.